button to main menu  Otley's Guide 1823 (5th edn 1834)

button title page
button previous page button next page
Page 2:-
to Ullswater, and by the river Eamont till it enters the Eden. Windermere Lake is said to belong to Westmorland, at least its islands are claimed by that county; although the whole of its western and part of its eastern shores belong to Lancashire. Coniston and Esthwaite Lakes, with Blelham and the tarns of Coniston, are wholly in Lancashire. Grasmere, Rydal, and Hawes Water, with several tarns, lie in Westmorland. The head of Ullswater is in Westmorland, but below Glencoin it constitutes the boundary between that and Cumberland. Derwent, Bassenthwaite, Buttermere, Ennerdale, and Wastwater, are in Cumberland.
Before this country became so much the resort of strangers, the word LAKE was little known to the native inhabitants; but to the ancient termination mere, WATER was usually superadded, as Windermere-Water, Grasmere-Water.

Having given its name to the adjoining parish, it has been thought necessary in speaking of the lake itself, to add the word water, or lake, by way of distinction. It is the largest of the English Lakes, being upwards of ten miles in length, measured upon the water; by the road on its banks considerably more. Its greatest breadth
gazetteer links
button -- Cumberland
button -- "Grasmere Water" -- Grasmere
button -- Westmorland
button -- "Windermere Water" -- Windermere
button next page

button to main menu Lakes Guides menu.